Intern Vineeta Tripathi finds a cure for the shopping hangover

October 15, 2010

“When I shop, the world gets better, and the world is better, but then it’s not, and I need to do it again.” – Rebecca Bloomwood (Confessions of a Shopaholic) 

Shopping is a great stress buster for women. We love shopping no matter what, which also explains why the recession failed to alter our shopping patterns. We do feel guilty for shopping and yet somehow we can’t stop…

Shopping is therapy. And it is no different for me. Since nothing is quite right with the World at most times, I usually find myself in retails stores; trying to set it right. So, no surprise then that I found myself at Shopper’s Stop (yet again) lovingly clutching an AND brand top. Only to be overwhelmed by pangs of guilt afterwards at having purchased some I didn’t really need…

Anyhow, I decided to wear the top next day. While taking off the tags. I came across a tag that said “Shop for Change – Ensuring better livelihoods for farmers and artisans.” Apparently the top was made out of Fair Trade Certified Cotton and my purchase was going to give farmers a fair deal. I had a smile on my face. I now had a good reason to justify this purchase! The guilt feeling was gone!

Then a wild coincidence happened.  A few days later a friend organized a meeting for me with an NGO for a project I could work on before undertaking my masters in London where I want to focus on weaving revival and better livelihoods for weavers and artisans. To my surprise and amazement, the organization was Shop for Change!  And now here I am working as a marketing intern with Shop for Change striving hard to help make a difference.

Having worked for over nine years as a designer I have gained diverse experience. However, I believe that creativity is not restricted to design but has more to do with opening minds to generate new ideas, new ways of doing things and new thoughts which will ultimately benefit larger sections of society. Shop for Change has given me such an opportunity and the experience so far has been really overwhelming…The fireworks have just begun!

 

One Response to “Intern Vineeta Tripathi finds a cure for the shopping hangover”

  1. vivek said

    hmmm…its called destiny…a force unseen unheard…but still felt. it pushes u towards ur goals and takes u thru up and downs of the river called life….and draws out ur best music…ur music is just starting bebo…all the best.
    me

Leave a Reply

